tron: legacy

I thought I had watched the 1982 film, Tron, but clearly I hadn’t. Perhaps I watched the trailer of the soon-to-be-released 2010 sequel, Tron: Legacy, way too many times to have imagined it all.


I finally watched it last night, and it’s pretty incredible what they had come up with 28 years ago. The filming technique was completely new at the time, and integrated use of live-action and computer simulated images is just retro-wonderful. It’s always interesting to see what people believed the future would be like – I feel like modern technology is finally catching up to what people had visualized decades ago. I know that in Tsukuba, Japan, facilities exist to research a similar technology to what the laser beam thing did in the film… supposedly, it is going to be used to transform objects (or tiny molecules) from point A to B…

There is a 28 year gap between the release dates of the first and the second films… making it the biggest gap in Hollywood history. Hopefully Tron: Legacy will meet, or even exceed everyone’s expectations. I’m pretty excited:


However.. I won’t think I’d like to watch in 3D because 1) it makes my eyes tired 2) my eyes are not fully 3D-compatible 3) it’s more pricey. Basically, I’m not a huge fan of the current craze over 3D films. I’m a poor student with old eyes so I think I’d rather watch in 2D.

Ps. The Daft Punk soundtrack for the new film is quite amazing.


The Crash – Daft Punk

Leave a comment

Filed under film, music

Leave a Reply

